THE BLOG

The Rocky Horror Show

It’s time to do the Time Warp again as The Rocky Horror Show, written by Richard O’Brien and directed by Scott Blanks, returns to Trustus from October 7-November 5.

Brad Majors and Janet Weiss are deeply in love and become affianced. What follows next is a “strange journey” as the couple finds themselves at the castle of Dr. Frank N Furter, a “sweet transvestite from Transsexual, Transylvania” that invites them up to his lab. The doctor unveils his new creation and madcap chaos ensues.

“This has been the most requested show by Trustus audiences since 1992,” states Director Scott Blanks. Blanks goes on to state, “I was introduced to Jim and Kay Thigpen in 1989 when I was going to USC for my M.F.A. in Theatre. Shortly after Jim asked me to be in Torch Song Triology and I somehow think that production was their inspiration for doing the first production of The Rocky Horror Show in 1992 under the direction of the talented Randy Hanna. It was an enormous success, sold-out completely. I am the only person to play Frank at every production – and what a great character! Now here I am, 24 years later, directing it.”

At it’s heart, The Rocky Horror Show is a sci-fi rock concert lead by the master of the castle and corset, Dr. Frank-N-Furter and his devotion to making the audience experience the thrills and frills of it all. Audience participation is truly what makes The Rocky Horror Show a great success, so be prepared to shout out lines, see others dressed in wild costumes and get a little rowdy.

Actor Michael Hazin, playing Frank-N-Furter’s right-hand-man, Riff Raff has had a small break between ending an incredible run of American Idiot at Trustus and beginning rehearsals for The Rocky Horror Show. When asked how he specifically prepares and trains himself to switch gears, Hazin states, “For one the show comes with a preexisting audience, from the cult following of the movie, as American Idiot had Green Day fans.  I think one thing that may be exciting and different about this show is that, there seems like there is so much room to play around with the characters, and bring the fans something familiar but different. That is a tough balance to find, but the experimentation in finding it can be a blast. Can’t wait to showcase this zany and wild show for the Columbia community.”

Opening night for The Rocky Horror Show is Friday, October 7 at 8:00 pm. Other shows are Saturday, October 8 at 8:00 pm, Thursday, October 13 at 7:30 pm, Friday, October 14 at 8:00pm, Saturday, October 15 at 8:00pm, Sunday, October 16 at 3:00 pm, Thursday, October 20 at 7:30 pm, Friday, October 21 at 8:00pm, Saturday, October 22 at 8:00pm, Sunday, October 23 at 3:00pm, Thursday, October 27 at 7:30pm, Friday, October 28 at 8:00 pm, Saturday, October 29 at 8:00pm, Sunday, October 30 at 3:00pm, Monday, October 31 at 7:30pm, Thursday, November 3 at 7:30pm, Friday, November 4 at 8:00pm, and Saturday, November 5 at 8:00pm. Tickets are available at the Trustus box office or online at www.trustus.org. Box office hours are Wednesday-Friday from 2-6 pm. For more information and updates, visit www.trustus.org, www.facebook.com/TrustusTheatre, https://twitter.com/trustustheatre or call 803.254.9732. Don’t forget to use the hashtag #sitdownandtrustus in any social media posts pertaining to Trustus Theatre.

Upcoming Events

September 08-September 23
October 06-October 14
October 27-November 11

CONTACT US